Flatbase or raised base? 
The Mamod stationaries fall into two distinct groups: the flatbases and the raised bases. Any Mamod flat base was made prior to 1954, this is one of the easiest ways to date an engine. After 1954* all engines had pressed steel bases which lifted the hot part of the engine off the surface the engine was resting on. The bases have changed in detail over the years and vary from engine to engine but are all raised. Ever since Malins made their first Mamod engines in 1937 all (until recently) have been drilled to fit Meccano construction sets. Malins never supplied wooden bases as was the option with Bowman engines. All too were painted in various shades of signal red, green was never used (except on a recent SP6 variation for a steam retailer).

There are many other tell tale details which date an engine as to its age depending on flywheel material, engine frame material and design even cylinder and boiler fitting design. I will go into this in greater detail in part two of Mamod Stationaries.

*The Minor No.1 had a raised base as early as c1949.

To help date your engine please click here:


Putting a date on your Mamod mobile or stationary engine

Enter content here

Enter content here

The SEs and SPs . . . 
From its inception in 1937 Mamod have made stationary engines. All were given the SE prefix (SE standing for Steam Engine). Later engines, post 1979, were given the SP prefix (SP standing for Steam Power). The engines first produced in the 1930s were similar to the Hobbies range (and had the same model designation just to confuse!), for which Geoffrey Malins was contracted to until 1939. The engines produced were the SE1, SE2, SE3 and the classic SE4. After the war the SE4 was dropped, along with the single cylindered SE3. From 1946 until 1957 Mamod only produced the SE1 and SE2, both which went through many incremental inprovements and changes.
1958 saw the introduction of the all new twin cylindered SE3. Again things stayed more or less as that (although the engines altered in design detail) until 1979 when the whole stationary range was redesigned and a new generation of SP engines introduced in the form of the SP1, SP2, SP3, SP4 and SP5.
Today only the SP2, SP4, a redesigned SP5 and a piston-valved SP6 remain.